St. John’s Palacios is changing hearts, souls and minds through liturgical worship, Christian exploration, and community service.
Our Vision for St. John's
St. John’s is a Church rooted in the faith traditions of The Episcopal Churchbut is also ripe for charting new pathsof: worshipwithin the wider Anglican Communion,community service and Christian education.A newly ordained Priest is now on board andfostering an even more vibrant, united congregation on the rise. We serve this Bayside Community as a lighthouse of love and acceptance for faith voyagersnow and into the future.
St. Johns, Palacios is in renewal – There has not been permanent clergy in place for several years. The sky is the limit as the new Vicar and laity collaborate to create new worship and ministry opportunities.
In 1902, three Collegeport, Texas families organized an Episcopal congregation. Grace Theodora Smith collected donations from local residents and businesses to raise funds for land and a church building. She collected nearly all the money needed, and Bishop George Herbert Kinsolving, second Bishop of the Diocese of Texas, gave the last dollars toward building the structure. Grace Smith envisioned a Mission style structure, and the congregation purchased the lumber and concrete blocks to build it, completing it in August 1911, when the Rev. John Sloan of St. Mark's Episcopal Church of Bay City held the first service. In November of that year, Bishop Kinsolving consecrated the church, which he named Grace Church of St. Mary's Mission in honor of Smith and her hard work. Smith wed Edgar G. Jones at the church in 1914.
Because of adverse weather conditions, including a freeze, and a hurricane, many local residents eventually left the area and the church. The sanctuary fell into disuse by the early 1920s. In 1922, Bishop Clinton S. Quin established St. John's Episcopal Church in Palacios, which met for a time at the home of Sara Jane Pybus. In 1926, her son, Fred Pybus, and others, including J.E. Lothridge and George A. Harrison, moved the Grace Church building from Collegeport to Palacios. Bishop Quin consecrated it as St. John's Mission on March 20, 1927. Since that time, St. John's congregation has refurbished the sanctuary and added a parish hall and classrooms. Membership has remained steady, and the congregation continues to gather for worship and education, a testament to the strong foundation laid by early Episcopalian residents.